Choice Music Prize 2017: Irish Song of the Year Nominees

Aine Cahill, Wyvern Lyngo joined by Niall Horan, Gavin James

The shortlist for 2017’s Irish Song of the Year is out.

Following on from the annual Choice Prize album announcement earlier this month, the song shortlist was unveiled earlier today.

Big hitters The Script and Niall Horan feature along with the likes of Áine Cahill, Chasing Abbey and Wyvern Lyngo.

Irish Song of the Year Shortlist

Here’s the ten tunes looking for your votes for this year’s Irish Song of the Year.

The Academic – Bear Claws

Áine Cahill – Plastic

Chasing Abbey – That Good Thing

Tandem Felix – Were You There (When they crucified the birthday boy?)

Niall Horan – Slow Hands

Gavin James – I Don’t Know Why

Dermot Kennedy – Glory

The Script – Rain

Wyvern Lyngo – I Love You, Sadie

Soulé – Good Life

The winning album will be announced on Thursday 8 March at the Choice Music Prize live show. Vicar Street plays host to the ceremony once more with RTÉ 2FM broadcasting a 4 hour show from 7pm on the night. There’s €10,000 on the line for the winner too – nothing to be sniffed at.

While the industry experts take on the albums, you can cast your vote for Irish Song of the Year here.


Ken McGuire

The one who kicked off back in the heady days of 2005. Now a radio head at KCLR, award-winning podcaster, producer, food blogger at Ken On Food, music nerd and everything else in between.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *