RTE announce live lineup for 2017 Choice Music Prize show

It's a full deck for this year's live show on 8 March.

The live lineup for the 2017 Choice Music Prize show was unveiled earlier this week.

It doesn’t get to happen every year, but all ten Album of the Year nominees will be performing.

James Vincent McMorrow, New Jackson, Otherkin, Fionn Regan, Ships and Talos will all be there. So too will Lankum, Fangclub, Marlene Enright and Come On Live Long.

What is the Choice Music Prize?

The 13th annual RTÉ Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music.  The prize has become one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.

Who is nominated for the 2017 Choice Music Prize?

  • Come On Live Long – In The Still (self released)
  • Marlene Enright – Placemats and Second Cuts (self released)
  • Fangclub – Fangclub (Universal)
  • Lankum – Between the Earth and Sky (Rough Trade)
  • James Vincent McMorrow – True Care (Faction Records)
  • New Jackson – From Night to Night (All City)
  • Otherkin – OK (Rubyworks)
  • Fionn Regan – The Meetings of the Waters (Abbey Records)
  • Ships – Precession (Ships Music)
  • Talos – Wild Alee (Feel Good Lost)

Judges for this year include Today FM’s Kate Brennan-Harding, 2FM’s Tracy Clifford, Red FM’s Alan Donovan and RTE Radio 1’s Lilian Smith. They’re joined by Danny Wilson (Totally Dublin), Stephen Byrne (Golden Plec), Dave Hanratty (freelance), Hugh Linehan (Irish Times), Ann Marie Shields (BIMM) and Martin Byrne (Music Consultant).

Tickets for the live event in Vicar Street on March 8th are on sale now. Get yours in Kilkenny at Rollercoaster Records or on ticketmaster.ie.




Ken McGuire

The one who kicked off KilkennyMusic.com back in the heady days of 2005. Now a radio head at KCLR, award-winning podcaster, producer, food blogger at Ken On Food, music nerd and everything else in between.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *